- Submit an application to the Mississippi State Board of Contractors.
- Pass the Law and Business Management exam.
- Pass a Technical (trade) exam specific to the type of work you perform.
How much does it cost to get a contractors license in Mississippi?
A General Contractor Application fee is $200, plus $50 for each classification. Commercial Licensing fee: $400, and includes one classification. Additional classifications are $100 more. Residential Licensing fee: $50, and includes one classification.
How long does it take to get a Mississippi Contractors license?
It takes approximately 7 working days for the application to go through the Board review process and the license to be issued. A license is good for one year and it is the contractor's responsibility to renew the license each year.
Can I build my own home in Mississippi?
How hard is it to get a contractors license in Mississippi?
It's more straightforward than most states because you can get your commercial or residential contractors license mainly through the Mississippi State Board of Contractors (MSBOC). You might need to go through a slightly different process if you're in a specialty trade.
How do I put a lien on my property in Kansas?
According to the mechanics lien law, after your notices are served timely the lien must be filed in the county recorder's office in the county where the property is located. The lien may either be served by certified mail, return receipt requested, or personally served on each of the parties.